Dances taught in the group come from the traditional repertoire of the 7 Basque provinces. Children may start dancing from the age of 7. They will begin with dances commonly known as games (txulalai, San Petrike, Esku dantza…)

Then, during their learning process, they will be able to discover, one or two hours a week, new dances from other provinces,

  • Biscaye: Txontongillo (war dance), banako (challenge dance)...
  • Gipuzkoa: Agurra (greeting dance), Jorrai (weeder dance)...
  • Alava: Zuhaitz, Eskuz Esku (religious dances)
  • Navarre: Ingurutxo, lantzeko ihauteria, Eurtako Neska dantza...
  • Basse Navarre
  • Soule
  • And our province, Labourd: Makil Ttiki, Matelota (representing fish saleswomen), Fandango and mutxiko (dances composed with a series of steps usually announced). These 'mutxiko' are taught at any age and are part of the traditional registry.  Gatherings are regularly set up in towns and villages of Labourd where you can enjoy dancing and sharing about the provincial folklore.


Teaching is leaded by young volunteers from the dancing school or outside participant.


The numerous costumes play a key role in the diversity of the Bask folklore. The most famous outfit is the traditional red skirt and the txaleko (black bolero). Each province has its own costume (colour, shape, trimming...) and each group, in towns and villages may add a personal touch (braid, pattern...). We do our best to respect these dress codes according to the dance.